Utah Points System
Utah’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) created a points system for moving traffic violations. Points are given based on the severity of the traffic violation or accident. If an individual receives more than 200 points in a 3 year period, they face driver’s license suspension. Driver’s under the age of 21 who receive more than 70 points in a 3 year period also face the same penalty.
|Speeding (depending on severity)||37 – 75|
|Failure to Yield Right-of-Way||60|
|Following too Closely (tailgating)||60|
|Wrong Side of Road||60|
|Wrong Way on One-Way Street||60|
|Other Moving Violations||40|
Please note, that the traffic judge has leeway in point distribution and can make adjustments +/- 10% (except for speeding tickets). Half of the points are removed after 1 year without convictions. The remaining points are removed after 2 years without further convictions. 50 points can be removed once every three years if the individual attends a defensive driving course.
Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation