Levitt Legal, PLLC.

Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation

(801) 828-2732

Under 21 DUI


DUI Under 21 Years Old / Underage Drunk Driving

According to the Eighth Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature, 9.5% of arrests made for DUI included drivers between 15 and 20 years old. Drinking and driving by a minor, therefore, is considered an especially serious offense. Utah has strict Zero Tolerance policies. Any person under the age of 21 who operates a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .02 percent or more can face serious consequences.

In addition to sentencing, the person may also find themselves facing unintended consequences. A DUI conviction can shut many doors in employment and education opportunities. If the DUI was committed during a school-related event, the student may find themselves facing an additional disciplinary hearing by the college or high school.

Salt Lake City Underage DUI Defense Attorney

Even students can benefit from dedicated legal representation. Given the severe consequences of a conviction, using every tool at your disposal can help ensure a favorable outcome. As a Salt Lake City DUI attorney, Darren M. Levitt is a fierce advocate for the futures of youth facing misdemeanor or felony DUI charges.

Levitt Legal can help you every step of the way, including bail bond hearings, trial, and criminal record expungement. Darren M. Levitt’s attention-to-detail can help reveal any instances of constitutional right violation, failures in investigation, and lack of probable cause to pull the driver over, which can help in your defense strategy. Call (801) 828-2732 or send an online message for a free, confidential consultation.

Driver’s License Suspension for Under 21 DUI

  • Under 21 First DUI – 120 Days or Turn 21 Years Old (Whichever Longer)

The driver’s license suspension period was increased from 90 days to 120 days or until the driver turns 21 year old, whichever is longer, for anyone who was over the age of 21 on the date of the offense for a first DUI.

  • Under 21 Second of Subsequent DUI – 2 Years or Turn 21 Years Old (Whichever Longer)

The driver’s license suspension period was increased from one year to two years or until the driver turns 21 year old, whichever is longer, for anyone who was over the age of 21 on the date of the offense for a second or subsequent DUI.

  • Under 21 Refusal – 18 Months or Turn 21 Years Old (Whichever Longer)

The driver’s license suspension period was increased to 18 months or until the driver turns 21 year old, whichever is longer, for anyone who was over the age of 21 on the date of the offense and refused to take the chemical test.

  • Under 21 Refusal With a Prior Sanction – 36 Months or Turn 21 Years Old (Whichever Longer)

The driver’s license suspension period was increased from one year to two years or until the driver turns 21 year old, whichever is longer, for anyone who was over the age of 21 on the date of the offense.

Ignition Interlock Restrictions for Under Age 21 DUI Convictions

If the person arrested was under the age of 21 and is subsequently convicted of DUI then the court will require the person to install the ignition interlock device for a period of 18 months for a first conviction or three years for a second or subsequent conviction. Learn more about the ignition interlock restricted driver process.

Alcohol Restrictions for Certain Alcohol Related Offenses

The driver who is under the age of 21 at the time of the offense will have an alcohol related conviction will be subject to an alcohol restriction for a certain period of time depending on the offense.

  • Per Se DUI – two years
  • DUI – two years
  • Alcohol Related Reckless Driving – two years
  • Impaired Driving – two years
  • Conviction for an Ignition Interlock Device Violation – three years
  • Conviction for an Alcohol Restricted Driver Violation – three years
  • DUI with a refusal to submit to chemical testing – five years
  • Second Conviction for DUI – ten years
  • Second Conviction for Alcohol Related Reckless Driving – ten years
  • Second Refusal to Submit to Chemical Testing within 10 Years of First Offense – ten years
  • Felony DUI – lifetime
  • Automobile Homicide – lifetime

Levitt Legal, PLLC | Utah Underage DUI Defense Lawyer

Despite the prevalence of alcoholic drinking for people under 21 years old, it is still against the law. The consequences can be serious for you or your child. Call (801) 828-2732 for a free consultation with Darren M. Levitt. Learn more about the charges you face, Utah’s criminal court process, and potential legal options. Protect your future with a solid legal defense strategy.

Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation
(801) 828-2732