Penalties Of Credit Card Fraud In Utah
Any person found guilty of credit card fraud will be sentenced according to the value of the total value of property, money, or things stolen.
Value less than $500 – Class B misdemeanor
Up to six months in jail and a fine up to $1,000
Value between $500 and $1,500 – Class A misdemeanor
Up to one year in jail and a fine up to $2,500
Value between $1,500 and $5,000 – Third degree felony
Up to five years in prison and a fine up to $5,000
Value exceeding $5,000 – Second degree felony
One to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000
Multiple violations may be aggregated into a single offense, and the degree of the offense is determined by the total value of all property, money, or things obtained or attempted to be obtained through the multiple violations.
Restitution for what has been stolen will most likely be required. The State of Utah has the ability to seize your property or assets in order to pay debts to the credit card company and/or cardholder.
Charges for credit card fraud can affect your future career, especially in the financial industry or industries handling sensitive customer information. A felony conviction will never leave your record and removes your ability to vote, serve on a jury, and own a firearm. Hire an accomplished defense attorney as soon as possible to have guidance in the legal system. Levitt Legal, PLLC can immediately advise you on how to handle ongoing investigations and in your communications with law enforcement.
Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation