Penalties for Marijuana Offenses in Utah
Utah’s Criminal Code 58-37-8(2)(d), possession of marijuana offenses are graded according to the amount of cannabis the alleged offender possessed as well as the number of times he or she has been previously convicted of this offense. Under this statute, marijuana possession crimes are classified as follows:
- First or Second Offense — Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000;
- Third Offense — Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500; or
- Fourth or Subsequent Offense — Third-degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
If a person allegedly possess 100 pounds or more of marijuana, possession is a second-degree felony offense punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation