Leaving The Scene Of An Accident
Leaving the Scene / Hit and Run
Being part of an accident can be a traumatizing experience for many. It is hard to expect anyone to think clearly and rationally after a major traffic accident. In many cases, an individual may act against their best interest and flee the scene because they are scared and distraught about what transpired. Unfortunately, doing this brings with it many unintended and severe consequences.
Arguing a case involving leaving the scene of an accident is very difficult for many reasons. With the inherent problems that come with a defense that includes a hit and run, it is vital that you make sure to retain a qualified criminal defense attorney who is fully prepared to fight for you.
Salt Lake City Leaving the Scene Attorney
If you are being charged with leaving the scene of an accident, take the steps necessary to give yourself the best opportunity to reduce or dismiss the charges by working with Levitt Legal, PLLC. With years of experience dealing with situations similar to this, Darren Levitt is prepared and confident in his ability to provide excellent client service while developing a defense strategy to puts you in a favorable light.
To discuss your options, call (801) 455-1743 or send an online message to set up a free and confidential consultation with Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Attorney Darren Levitt. Darren proudly represent individuals in and around the cities of Perry, Honeyville, Murray, Riverton, Grantsville, Rush Valley, Provo, American Fork, Springville, Orem, North Logan, Providence, Ogden, Park City, Bountiful, Woods Cross, Midway and Wallsburg, among many others.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident under Utah Law
According to Utah Code §41-6-401, it is an individual’s duty to remain at the scene of the accident until there is an exchange of information. If there is another party involved, each needs to exchange name, address and the registration number of the vehicles being operated, along with the name of the insurance provider covering the vehicles.
Furthermore, the operator of a vehicle involved in an accident shall immediately and by the quickest means of communication available, give notice or cause to give notice of the accident to the nearest office of a law enforcement agency if the accident resulted in property damage to an apparent extent of $1,500 or more.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene in Salt Lake City
According to Utah Code §41-6-401(7), a person who violates the provisions of Utah state law concerning the duties of an operator during an accident that involves property damage, will be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.
In Utah, a Class B misdemeanor comes with a presumptive sentence of up to six months in jail and / or up to $1,000 in fines.
Levitt Legal, PLLC | Salt Lake City Hit and Run Arrest Lawyer
If you or a loved one is dealing with a leaving the scene of an accident charge, working with a criminal defense attorney will allow you to approach this situation in the most effective manner possible and give you an opportunity to get the charges reduced or possibly dismissed.
Darren Levitt is committed to providing excellent legal counsel while making certain that your rights are protected throughout the entire process. Call (801) 455-1743 or send an online message to schedule a risk-free consultation at Levitt Legal today if you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident or a hit and run in the surrounding Utah counties of Box Elder, Salt Lake, Utah, Cache, Morgan, Weber, Summit, Davis or Wasatch.
Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation