Levitt Legal, PLLC.

Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation

(801) 828-2732

Failure To Respond To Officer’s Request


Failure to Respond to Officer / Fleeing and Attempting to Elude

Under Utah’s criminal code, Section § 41-6a-210, it is a crime to fail to respond to officer’s signal to stop (often called “flee and elude” or “fleeing and attempting to elude.” The felony penalties are more severe when it is alleged that the act of fleeing and attempting to elude a law enforcement officer causes property damage or bodily injury to another person.

Utah’s felony fleeing and eluding statute also contains other consequences such as rules for suspension of the person’s driver license after a conviction or the forfeiture of vehicles involved in the offense.

Failure to Respond to Officer’s Signal to Stop in Salt Lake City

If you were charged with a crime under Section § 41-6a-210 for the offense of failure to respond to officer’s signal to stop, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in Salt Lake City, Utah to discuss the case. Darren Levitt is experienced representing clients charged

under

Utah’s fleeing and attempting to elude statute throughout the Salt Lake City-Ogden metropolitan area, which includes Salt Lake County, Davis County, and Weber County, Utah.

Penalties for Failure to Respond to Officer’s Signal to Stop in Utah

Utah Code Section § 41-6a-210(1) designates the criminal offense of fleeing and attempting to elude as a third degree felony with a minimum mandatory fine of $1,000.00.

Under § 41-6a-210(2)(a) if the act is alleged to cause the death or serious bodily injury to another person then the crime can be charged as a felony of the second degree with a minimum mandatory fine of $5,000.00.

Statutory Language for Utah’s “Failure to Respond to Officer’s Signal to Stop” Statute

The statute provides:

(1)(a) An operator who receives a visual or audible signal from a peace officer to bring the vehicle to a stop may not:

(i) operate the vehicle in willful or wanton disregard of the signal so as to interfere with or endanger the operation of any vehicle or person; or

(ii) attempt to flee or elude a peace officer by vehicle or other means.

Driver’s License Revocation Requirements under Utah Law After a Conviction

Under Utah Code § 41-6a-210(3)(a), in addition to the other felony penalty mentioned above, if a person is convicted of the offense, the person’s driver license will be revoked under Subsection 53-3-220(1)(a)(ix) for a period of one year. If the person has a driver license from another state, then the division will notify the “appropriate officials” in the state that granted the person a driver license.

Attorney for Fleeing and Attempting to Elude Crimes in Utah

Call to speak with an experienced attorney if you were charged with an offense under Section § 41-6a-210 for fleeing and attempting to elude an officer’s signal to stop. Darren Levitt is experienced representing clients charged under Utah’s Failure to Respond to Officer’s Request to Stop statute throughout the Salt Lake City-Ogden metropolitan area, which includes Salt Lake County, Davis County, and Weber County, Utah.

Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation
(801) 828-2732