DUI Penalties And Penalties Under Utah Law
Possible penalties and punishments for a DUI conviction can be found in Utah Code §41-6a-503 and §41-6a-509. Consider the fact that for even a first DUI conviction, the penalties if you are convicted of DUI can include the following punishments and penalties:
- At least two days in jail;
- At least 48 hours of community service;
- At least $700 in fines and fees; and
- At least 90 days suspension of driver’s license.
A first or second time DUI offense can be charged as a class A or B misdemeanor, depending on whether another person was injured or whether any minors were passengers in the motor vehicle.
For a second or subsequent DUI conviction, Utah’s statutory scheme provides for more serious penalties and punishments. Third degree felonies include individuals who inflicted serious bodily injury on another person as a result of drunk driving and negligence. Each victim injured seriously constitutes a separate offense, whether or not the injuries arose from the same drunken driving period. This degree of felony also includes individuals who have two or more criminal convictions within the past 10 years.
Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation