Burglary / Aggravated Burglary
Burglary / Aggravated Burglary
A burglary allegation will be met with an extremely punitive stance by the state of Utah. Not only is there the possibility of prison sentences and hefty fines, but due to its classification as a felony, your professional future is also put in a compromising position.
Considering the potential for negative ramifications stemming from a conviction, the best course of action would be to prepare your eventual defense with a capable criminal defense attorney who can advise you on how to most effectively argue your case.
Salt Lake City Burglary Attorney
With the serious implications involved in a burglary allegation, working with a knowledgeable and aggressive lawyer can all the difference in the eventual outcome. Make sure your rights are protected by retaining quality legal counsel to argue on your behalf.
Darren Levitt, of Levitt Legal, PLLC is an experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney who has the legal understanding to provide excellent representation while increasing the chances of you being able to get the charges reduced or completely dismissed.
Call (801) 455-1743 or send an online message to schedule a free and confidential consultation to go over the allegations against you. Darren proudly represents individuals in and around the Utah counties of Box Elder, Salt Lake, Morgan, Tooele, Utah, Cache, Weber, Summit, Davis and Wasatch.
Burglary and Aggravated Burglary under Utah Law
Utah Code §76-6-202 states that an actor is guilty of burglary if they enter or remain unlawfully in a building or any portion of a building with intent to commit:
- A felony;
- An assault on any person;
- Sexual battery;
- Lewdness involving a child; or
The penalties depend on where the burglary was committed. If it was in a dwelling (residence), you will be charged with a second degree felony. For any other location, it will most likely be considered a third degree felony.
A second degree felony comes with a presumptive sentence of up to fifteen years in prison and / or fines of up to $10,000. A third degree felony, on the other hand, comes with a presumptive sentence of up to five years in prison and / or up to $5,000 in fines.
An aggravated burglary charge will come into effect if the alleged offender:
- Causes bodily injury to any person;
- Uses or threatens the immediate use of a dangerous weapon against any person; or
- Possesses or attempts to use any explosive or dangerous weapon.
Aggravated burglary is classified as a first degree felony under Utah law, which comes with a presumptive sentence of 5 years to life in prison and / or fines of up to $10,000.
Levitt Legal, PLLC | Salt Lake City Burglary Arrest Lawyer
If you or a loved one is currently being accused of a burglary charge in the greater Salt Lake City region, now is the time to make certain that you are prepared to defend your name and keep your freedom intact.
Call Darren Levitt today at (801) 455-1743 to schedule a free and confidential consultation to discuss the details of your case. Darren proudly represents individuals dealing with the criminal process in and around the Utah cities of Tremonton, Brigham City, West Valley City, West Jordan, Draper, Tooele, Grantsville, Provo, Pleasant Grove, Lehi, Morgan, Logan, Wellsville, Richmond, Ogden, Park City, Oakley, Bountiful, Farmington, Midway and Charleston, among others.
Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation