A violent offense in Utah will come with severe penalties if found guilty. The possible penalties of this conviction can vary widely depending on the particular circumstances of you case. No matter what the situation, an assault charge can have major negative ramifications on your life. An aggravated assault charge can make matters much worse.
With the potential for a sentence that requires years of prison and hefty fines, it would be in your best interest to take every precaution necessary to keep your freedom intact and lessen the devastating long-term effects of such a charge. Finding qualified legal representation ought to be high on your priority list considering that an attorney should give you the best opportunity to argue you side of the case, while making certain that your individual rights are protected.
Salt Lake City Aggravated Assault Attorney
If you or a loved one is dealing with an aggravated assault charge in the greater Salt Lake City area, then Levitt Legal, PLLC can help you. Darren Levitt is an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney that is committed to providing excellent client service while developing the most effective defense strategy for your personal situation.
Call (801) 455-1743 to schedule a free and confidential consultation to discuss the specifics of your case with a knowledgeable and dedicated Salt Lake City criminal defense attorney today.
Darren proudly represents individuals dealing with assault charges in and around the Utah cities of: Salt Lake, West Valley City, Taylorsville, Bluffdale, Tooele, Grantsville, Provo, Springville, Logan, Hyrum, Ogden, West Haven, Park City, Layton, Midway or Daniel, among many others.
Aggravated Assault under Utah Law
In the state of Utah, it is considered assault if there is:
- An attempt, with unlawful force or violence, to do bodily injury to another;
- A threat, accompanied by a show of immediate force or violence, to do bodily injury to another; or
- An act, committed with unlawful force or violence that causes bodily injury to another or creates a substantial risk of bodily injury to another (§76-5-102).
According to Utah Code §76-5-103, a person commits aggravated assault when the assault definition laid out in §76-5-102 is committed in conjunction with the use of a dangerous weapon or other means or force likely to produce death or serious bodily injury.
Dangerous weapon is defined as any item capable of causing death or bodily injury. This could also includes the “representation” of a dangerous weapon, if an actor’s (offenders) use or intended use of the item in question leads the victim to reasonably believe it is likely to cause death or serious bodily injury.
Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Salt Lake City
According to Utah Code §76-5-103, a charge of aggravated assault in the state of Utah is classified as a felony. Aggravated assault without serious injury is considered a third degree felony, which comes with a presumptive sentence of up to five years in prison and / or fines of up to $5,000.
If serious bodily injury occurs during the assault, you may be charged with a second degree felony, which comes with a presumptive sentence of up to 15 years in prison and / or fines of up to $5,000.
Levitt Legal, PLLC | Salt Lake City Aggravated Assault Arrest Lawyer
Charges involving aggravated assault need to be taken care of in a timely and efficient manner. If you are currently being charged with aggravated assault in the Utah counties of Box Elder, Salt Lake, Tooele, Utah, Morgan, Cache, Weber, Summit, Davis or Wasatch, call Levitt Legal today.
Darren Levitt is committed to defending your rights and freedom against erroneous or exaggerated charges and will do everything in his power to make certain you are treated fairly during the criminal process.
Call (801) 455-1743 or send an online message to schedule a free and confidential consultation.
Call Now To Schedule Your Consultation