Accident Involving Injury or Death
Car accidents can be extremely frightening and traumatic experiences for all of the people involved in such collisions. When a crash results in a person sustaining serious or fatal injuries, the driver who is responsible for causing the accident may face criminal charges.
While many people who are found to be at fault for traffic collisions made simple and honest errors that led to the crashes, authorities in Utah will arrest alleged offenders who were driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs or driving recklessly. In such cases, the drivers can face steep sentences that may include lengthy prisons sentences and significant fines.
Lawyer for Accident Involving Injury or Death in Salt Lake City, UT
If you were arrested after allegedly causing an automobile accident in Utah that result in another party suffering serious injuries or death, it is in your best interest to seek legal representation as soon as possible. Levitt Legal, PLLC aggressively defends people accused of all kinds of traffic violations throughout Salt Lake County, Wasatch County, Utah County, Tooele County, Summit County, Box Elder County, Cache County, Weber County, Morgan County, and Davis County.
Salt Lake City criminal defense attorney Darren Levitt can fight to possibly get whatever criminal charges you are facing reduced or dismissed. Call (801) 455-1743 today to have our lawyer provide an honest and thorough evaluation of your case during a free, confidential consultation.
Utah Accident Involving Injury or Death Information Center
Back to top
Accident Involving Injury Penalties in Salt Lake County
Under Utah Code § 41-6a-401, an operator of a vehicle who has reason to believe that he or she may have been involved in an accident resulting in injury to a person must immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to it as possible without obstructing traffic more than is necessary and remain there until he or she has fulfilled the requirements of Utah Code § 41-6a-401.7. The duties of motor vehicle operators under that statute include providing to the people involved the operator's name, address, and the registration number of the vehicle being operated as well as the name of the insurance provider covering the vehicle being operated including the phone number of the agent or provider.
The operator is also required to render to any person injured in the accident reasonable assistance, including transporting or making arrangements for transporting, of the injured person to a physician or hospital for medical treatment if:
- it is apparent that treatment is necessary; or
- transportation is requested by the injured person.
When a driver is at fault for causing an accident that results in injuries to another party, that person is typically cited for an infraction such as following too closely or negligent collision that may be punishable by a fine but does not involve imprisonment. Criminal charges may be filed, however, if the alleged offender is accused of driving recklessly.
Reckless driving is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. If a driver fails to fulfill his or her duties as a motor vehicle operator, that person can be charged with class C misdemeanor offense of leaving the scene of an accident, which is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $750. If an alleged offender is also accused of DUI, that offense becomes a third-degree felony punishable by five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Back to top
Accident Involving Death Penalties in Salt Lake City
Utah Code § 41-6a-401.5 places the same requirements of operators of motor vehicles involved in accidents causing death as are expected of drivers involved in other types of crashes. If a person is accused of leaving the scene of an accident resulting in the death of another party, however, the alleged offender can be charged with a third-degree felony.
In some cases of collisions resulting in death, motor vehicle operators may be charged with negligent homicide. Negligent homicide under Utah Code § 76-5-206, a class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500, involves an alleged offender who acts with criminal negligence—a circumstance in which the alleged offender should be aware of the risk— and thereby causes the death of another.
If an alleged offender is accused of convicted of DUI in connection with an accident resulting in the death of another party, that person may be charged with automobile homicide. Under Utah Code § 76-5-207, automobile homicide is a second-degree felony punishable by 15 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Back to top
Utah Accident Involving Injury or Death Resources
Utah Highway Safety Office — The mission of the Utah Highway Safety Office is “to develop, promote and coordinate traffic safety initiatives designed to reduce traffic crashes, injuries and fatalities on Utah’s roadways.” Visit this website to find driving safety tips relating to all kinds of topics, including seat belts, bicycles, and DUI prevention. You can also read recent news.
Utah Highway Safety Office
5500 Amelia Earhart Dr. #155
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Utah Highway Safety Plan 2016 — View the full text of the state’s highway safety plan. The report includes a table of crash statistics as well as several graphs relating to citations issued and arrests made in recent years. You can also learn about related countermeasures and projects.
Back to top
[[$firm]] | Salt Lake City Accident Involving Injury or Death Attorney
Were you arrested for allegedly causing an accident that result in serious injuries to or the death of another person in Utah? Do not say anything to authorities until you have contacted Levitt Legal, PLLC.
Darren Levitt is a criminal defense lawyer in Salt Lake City who represents clients in Taylorsville, Murray, South Jordan, Cottonwood Heights, Midvale, Draper, Riverton, West Valley City, West Jordan, and many surrounding areas of Salt Lake County. He can review your case and help you understand all of your legal options when you call (801) 455-1743 or complete an online contact form to schedule a free initial consultation.
Back to top