DUI with Property Damage
Driving under the influence (DUI) involving property damage, can make an alleged offender much more likely to face the maximum penalties possible for a drunk driving charge. While the Utah Code does not provide specific additional penalties for property damage, it is used as a factor by judges during sentencing.
This means a judge will very likely impose a longer sentence for a DUI case if an allegation of property damage is involved. Anybody who has been arrested for a drunk driving offense in the greater Salt Lake County area should make sure that he or she has legal representation so the alleged harm done to another party’s property does not result in additional punishment.
Salt Lake City DUI with Property Damage Lawyer
Levitt Legal, PLLC can help you avoid severe penalties and consequences for your property damage DUI case in Northern Utah. Salt Lake City DUI with property damage attorney Darren Levitt is experienced and knowledgeable in all areas of criminal defense, including sentencing factors in these cases.
He can review your case and help you understand all of your legal options. Contact our firm today at (801) 455-1743 to schedule a free, confidential consultation.
Utah DUI with Property Damage Information Center
Back to top
DUI Charges in Salt Lake County
There are multiple types of DUI in Utah. Some of reasons an alleged offender may be placed under arrest include:
- Per Se DUI - If you are accused of operating a motor vehicle with a breath or blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08 or higher.
- Impaired Driving DUI - If you are accused of operating a motor vehicle and any amount of alcohol or drugs has impaired your ability to operate the vehicle safely.
- Drugged DUI (DUID) - If you are accused of having any measurable amount of an illegal or controlled drug in your system.
- Zero Tolerance DUI - If you are under the age of 21 and have consumed any alcohol at all.
Sentencing depends on a number of factors, including whether property damage was involved.
Back to top
Penalties for DUI with Property Damage in Utah
In most cases, a DUI will charged as a Class A or Class B misdemeanor. Maximum penalties for most DUI convictions are outlined in Utah Code § 76-3-204 and § 76-3-301.
A Class A misdemeanor conviction in Utah, the most serious category of misdemeanor, can result in a sentence of up to a year in jail. A conviction can also result in a fine of up to $2,500, in addition to surcharges and restitution. Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000, in addition to surcharges and restitution.
If property damage is alleged in your DUI case, you are much more likely to receive a sentence closer to the maximum. Any conviction will also stay on your permanent criminal record.
Back to top
Property Damage as a DUI Sentencing Factor in Salt Lake County
The Utah DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, published by the Utah Sentencing Commission, states that “considerations such as … damage to property may demand consideration of a longer sentence as well as commitment to prison rather than jail.” This means a judge is likely to give you a sentence closer to the maximum sentence, unless you are able to explain your situation to the judge in a way that may mitigate the situation.
Back to top
Find a DUI with Property Damage Lawyer in Salt Lake City
After being arrested or charged with this crime, you should immediately seek experienced legal counsel. Call Levitt Legal, PLLC today at (801) 455-1743 to have our DUI with property damage attorney review your case.
Darren Levitt will review the facts and circumstances of your case and discuss the possible defenses that could help you obtain the best possible outcome.